Beethoven 9

Picture of Robert Max

Saturday 22 June 2019, 7:30 pm
Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford

Janáček - Sinfonietta
Beethoven - Symphony no.9

Charlotte Bowden soprano
Amy Shaw mezzo soprano
Michael Bell tenor
Ki Hyun Lee bass
The Oxford Chorus
Robert Max conductor

Janáček described his Sinfonietta as embodying the ideals of 'contemporary free man, his spiritual beauty and joy, his strength, courage and determination to fight for victory'. Scored for a large orchestra including 25 brass players, it includes one of the most wonderful of all orchestral fanfares.

Beethoven's Ninth Symphony is a life-affirming masterpiece. It was an inspiration to other composers and was highly influential on the subsequent development of the classical symphony. It continues to be one of Beethoven's best-loved works. For this performance we are joined by an impressive group of young soloists and The Oxford Chorus, prepared for this performance by their chorus master and conductor, Janet Lincé