Sibelius Symphony no. 5

Julian Trevelyan

Saturday 18 March 2017, 7:30 pm
Oxford Town Hall

Josef Strauss - Music of the Spheres
Dvořák - Piano Concerto
Sibelius - Symphony No. 5

Julian Trevelyan piano
Robert Max conductor

Sibelius's orchestral music is much-loved by concert audiences and his Fifth Symphony is described by Classic FM as having 'the greatest finale of all time'. Sibelius's love of nature here comes to the fore with an exultant theme inspired by the magnificent sight of swans flying in formation.

Josef Strauss provides a magical opening to the concert with a sparkling waltz and the centrepiece is Dvořák's tuneful and warm-hearted Piano Concerto.

Julian Trevelyan, soloist in the concerto, is a BBC Young Musician keyboard finalist and a prize-winning pianist with an exceptional international competition record.