Goldmark and Mahler

violin profile against blue gradient background

Saturday 12 March 2022, 7:30pm
Oxford Town Hall

Goldmark - Violin Concerto
Mahler - Symphony no.6

Freya Goldmark violin
Robert Max conductor

Goldmark was a contemporary of Mahler, and his Violin Concerto was once as popular as those of Brahms and Tchaikovsky. It is an appealing work filled with lyrical melodies, ending with a colourful virtuoso dance-like finale.

Mahler's 6th Symphony, despite some of its themes evoking his wife, children and pastoral mountainside, is a work dominated by tragedy, and the famous hammer blows of fate towards the end of this powerful symphony presciently depict Mahler's future adversity.

Tickets: £16, Over 60s £14, Accompanied under 16s FREE
Students aged 16-25 and those in receipt of benefits £5
from Tickets Oxford at Oxford Playhouse 01865 305305
Book on line

Oxford Town Hall 'a Victorian Gem, good for concerts' (Trip Advisor)
Google map and directions

Licensed bar before the concert and during the interval