Tchaikovsky, Strauss & Szymanowski

Michał Ćwiżewicz picture

Saturday 16 November 2019, 7:30 pm
Oxford Town Hall

Tchaikovsky - Romeo and Juliet
Szymanowski - Violin Concerto no.1
Strauss - Death and Transfiguration

Michał Ćwiżewicz violin
Robert Max conductor

Tchaikovsky’s passionate Fantasy Overture is based on Shakespeare’s tale of ill-fated young lovers and Strauss's graphic tone poem closes the evening with music of the most ravishing and ecstatic beauty.

British Polish violinist Michał Ćwiżewicz performs in Europe, the Middle East and in the USA and has been broadcast on radio and television in the UK and Poland. The poetic concerto, composed by his compatriot Karol Szymanowski in 1916, is rhapsodic and spell-binding.

We were very grateful to Michał Ćwiżewicz for stepping in at short notice to replace the previously advertised soloist, Maria Włoszczowska, who was unwell.