The New World

Manhattan skyline

Saturday 13 November 2021, 7:30pm
Oxford Town Hall

Beethoven - Leonore Overture no.3
Walton - Violin Concerto
Dvořák - Symphony no.9 "From the New World"

Eunsley Park violin
Robert Max conductor

Leonore Overture no. 3 is the third, and most popular, of four separate overtures written for Beethoven's only opera, Fidelio. The opera tells a tale of hope and freedom, set against cruelty and repression, and this is played out in miniature in the overture.

William Walton's Violin Concerto in B minor was commissioned in the late 1930s, and was inspired by a visit to Italy. This glamorous and charming work will be performed by award-winning soloist Eunsley Park.

Antonín Dvořák's ninth symphony combines references to folk music from his experiences in America, and his Czech roots. With a medlodic variety from the poignancy of the haunting cor anglais solo in the Largo, to the colourful vigour of the finale, it is easy to see why this well-loved symphony is one of the most popular to perform.