Swans, Dance & Romance

A pair of swans (image by moonzigg via Pixabay)

Saturday 19 November 2022, 7:30pm
Oxford Town Hall

Bernstein - Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Bruch - Violin Concerto no.1
Sibelius - The Swan of Tuonela
Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Suite

Maria Włoszczowska violin
Robert Max conductor

West Side Story adapts Romeo and Juliet to the setting of urban New York, and Bernstein uses latin dance rhythms to depict the tension between the rival gangs, and the first tentative glances between the ill-fated lovers.

Maria Włoszczowska Bruch's first violin concerto features lyrical romantic violin melodies and soulful introspection.

In Sibelius' atmospheric tone poem, Tuonela is the Isle of the Dead, located in a large river of black waters. A swan glides upon these waters, voiced by a beautiful plaintive cor anglais.

Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake Suite was selected from the ballet of the same name, and the graceful and passionate music evokes swans, who are cursed maidens, inhabiting a mysterious romantic lake of tears.

Photo: moonzigg from Pixabay